The Outdoors Place  
THE PLACE Chat Room

Go Back   The Outdoors Place > Outdoors > Gardening
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-24-2014, 08:05 AM
Pintail is my best good chum

Question lawn people?

I know we have talked about this before but we are about to get serious about my yard here in the next few months.

Im gonna have to have some top soil or really good dirt hauled in and spread before doing anything. I cant really afford sod too so I was thinking of seeding a good fairly low maintenance grass.

The best time or ONLY time to seed is fall right? What is the best grass to seed with? Once the dirt is spread and the seed is broadcasted, you cover it all in hay right?

Looking for some ideas. Ive decided to go all grass though. It looks much better. I will just have to hire somebody to mow and weedeat a couple times a month during the summer.
"I've been working here for 44 years. Ain't nobody ever ordered nothing but a T-Bone steak and baked potato. Except one time, this @sshole from New York ordered a trout, back in 1987. We ain't got no g**d*mned trout".,
Old 04-24-2014, 08:19 AM
THE PLACE Member

Not sure if you'd consider it but a guy I work with just had a type of artificial grass put in at his house because he's sodded 4 times down here and it won't grow. It looks REALLY good.
Old 04-24-2014, 08:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssramage View Post
Not sure if you'd consider it but a guy I work with just had a type of artificial grass put in at his house because he's sodded 4 times down here and it won't grow. It looks REALLY good.
Yeah I would consider it for sure. Pretty much zero maintenance. Wonder what the cost is?

If you could find out any info, I would greatly appreciate it
"I've been working here for 44 years. Ain't nobody ever ordered nothing but a T-Bone steak and baked potato. Except one time, this @sshole from New York ordered a trout, back in 1987. We ain't got no g**d*mned trout".,