The Outdoors Place  
THE PLACE Chat Room

Go Back   The Outdoors Place > General > Shooting The Bull
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2017, 10:09 PM
georgiaboy's Avatar
georgiaboy georgiaboy is offline
THE PLACE Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3,805
Default Tri fuel generator conversion

Any of y'all used a conversion kit to convert a gas generator to be able to use gas, propane and natural gas?
__________________
"Welcome to Costco. I Love You." -Idiocracy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2017, 09:47 AM
Steven Farr's Avatar
Steven Farr Steven Farr is offline
I'd rather be hunting
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NEGA Flyway
Posts: 9,142
Default

No.
__________________
Let this be a lesson to all the geese in the world
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2017, 10:01 AM
Atlsooner's Avatar
Atlsooner Atlsooner is offline
Boomer Sooner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,346
Default

Not the conversion kit, but mine will run on propane or gas. And it came in handy Monday evening for about 6 hrs. (Propane)
__________________
‎"A booty call is like a 1/2 eaten sandwich in the refrigerator. You don't know who was eating it last, but you do know that it's 2 a.m, and you are starving"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2017, 12:49 PM
Duff's Avatar
Duff Duff is offline
THE PLACE Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,787
Default

Never heard of such.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2017, 01:36 PM
bouncy bouncy is offline
THE PLACE Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3,353
Default

My brother did.......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2017, 01:37 PM
bouncy bouncy is offline
THE PLACE Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3,353
Default

http://www.instructables.com/id/Conv...un-on-propane/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2017, 03:00 PM
georgiaboy's Avatar
georgiaboy georgiaboy is offline
THE PLACE Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3,805
Default

I'm going to put a voltmeter on it to make sure it's actually generating and not just running. If it's making power then I'm ordering the kit and ask a buddy with Atlanta Gas Light to hook it up at my meter.

This generator is a '99 and has almost 3 hours on it lol. Guy that we bought the house from filled it, ran it during a short outage and then let it gum up. We haven't lost power so I've only ran it to test after the new carb and fuel line.
__________________
"Welcome to Costco. I Love You." -Idiocracy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2017, 07:51 PM
Sixes's Avatar
Sixes Sixes is offline
THE PLACE Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sixes
Posts: 17,362
Default

Make sure you know which gas meter that you have, if it's low pressure, you can hook straight up past the meter, same if it's a high pressure system (HP pressure will have regulator right before the meter) and if it's a 2 LB meter (usually red faced), you will have to get a regulator before the hookup to cut it to inches of water (1/4 pound PSI or so).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-18-2017, 10:53 PM
georgiaboy's Avatar
georgiaboy georgiaboy is offline
THE PLACE Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3,805
Default

Thanks Sixes, I'll take a look at it and check. I didn't know there were different types.
__________________
"Welcome to Costco. I Love You." -Idiocracy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-19-2017, 12:04 AM
Sixes's Avatar
Sixes Sixes is offline
THE PLACE Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sixes
Posts: 17,362
Default

Where are you going to run the generator from? The reason that I am asking is I would figure out where you want to run it from and then tie into your fuel line from the basement or crawl space unless the location is close to the meter and then I would tee into the fuel after the meter.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-19-2017, 06:16 AM
georgiaboy's Avatar
georgiaboy georgiaboy is offline
THE PLACE Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3,805
Default

The generator sits on a pad outside one of the basement doors, about 6' from the meter. The door is between the meter and where the generator sits (covered) so I'll probably run some type of flex hose with qd ends. The hose can be disconnected and put indoors when not being used.

If I have to hard pipe then I may go around/over the door. Either way it's all close and the generator uses a 13 hp Honda so I can probably use low pressure?
__________________
"Welcome to Costco. I Love You." -Idiocracy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.