The Outdoors Place  
THE PLACE Chat Room

Go Back   The Outdoors Place > Shooting > Firearms
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-22-2016, 11:55 AM
Pintail is my best good chum

Default Best caliber for AR platform for deer hunting?

I have decided to buy me another AR15 here in the next few weeks. It will be a .223/5.56 to start with but I will also get another upper for big game hunting probably by next season. While I know good and well that with the right ammo choice, a .223 will kill Ga whitetail deer all day long there has to be better choices out there for an AR platform.

Opinions on the .300 blackout? 6.8 SPC? Any other suggestions?

Thanks
"I've been working here for 44 years. Ain't nobody ever ordered nothing but a T-Bone steak and baked potato. Except one time, this @sshole from New York ordered a trout, back in 1987. We ain't got no g**d*mned trout".,
Old 01-22-2016, 12:33 PM
THE PLACE Member

I think the 6.8 will be better for further ranges. I took my 300 blk hunting some but didn't shoot any deers with it. If you got a suppressor the 300 will cycle subsonic ammo and is very quiet and very fun. Supersonic would probably limit you to around 150 yards but I have shot mine a good bit at 200 and 300. With a 100 yard zero it's about 9 inches low at 200 and like 30 inches at 300. Mine is a 12.5" and I was surprised at how accurate it is. With a 1-4x scope I can hit a 5" plate almost every shot at 200 and mostly at 300. The reticle isn't the best for holding tight, with a duplex I think I could go 100% at either range. 300 blk uses same bolt and mags; 6.8 will need a new bolt and different mags. Not the entire bolt carrier, just the bolt. I'd get a whole bolt carrier group to be safe, one would be a different color too.

If I didn't have one and it was for hunting only I'd probably go with a 6.8 or maybe 6.5 Grendel (if ammo wasn't sky high, not sure on that). Pintail had or has one and he will probably know more.